Page 1 of 3

FILED 08-28-2023 CLERK OF WISCONSIN SUPREME COURT

STATE OF WISCONSIN

IN SUPREME COURT

Case No. 2023AP1399-OA

REBECCA CLARKE, RUBEN ANTHONY, TERRY DAWSON, DANA GLASSTEIN, ANN GROVES-LLOYD, CARL HUJET, JERRY IVERSON, TIA JOHNSON, ANGIE KIRST, SELIKA LAWTON, FABIAN MALDONADO, ANNEMARIE MCCLELLAN, JAMES MCNETT, BRITTANY MURIELLO, ELA JOOSTEN (PARI) SCHILS, NATHANIEL SLACK, MARY SMITH-JOHNSON, DENISE SWEET, and GABRIELLE YOUNG,

Petitioners,

v.

WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION, DON MILLIS, ROBERT F. SPINDELL, JR., MARK L. THOMSEN, ANN S. JACOBS, MARGE BOSTELMANN, JOSEPH J. CZARNEZKI, IN THEIR OFFICIAL CAPACITIES AS MEMBERS OF THE WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION; MEAGAN WOLFE, IN HER OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS THE ADMINISTRATOR OF THE WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION: ANDRE JACQUE, TIM CARPENTER, ROB HUTTON, CHRIS LARSON, DEVIN LEMAHIEU, STEPHEN L. NASS, JOHN JAGLER, MARK SPREITZER, HOWARD MARKLEIN, RACHAEL CABRAL-GUEVARA, VAN H. WANGGAARD, JESSE L. JAMES, ROMAINE ROBERT QUINN, DIANNE H. HESSELBEIN, CORY TOMCZYK, JEFF SMITH, AND CHRIS KAPENGA, IN THEIR OFFICIAL CAPACITIES OF THE WISCONSIN SENATE,

Respondents.

STATEMENT OF NO RESPONSE OF WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION AND ITS COMMISSIONERS AND ADMINISTRATOR

Respondents Wisconsin Elections Commission (the "Commission"); Don Millis, Robert F. Spindell, Jr., Mark L. Thomsen, Ann S. Jacobs, Marge Bostelmann, Joseph J. Czarnezki, in their official capacities as members of the Commission; and Meagan Wolfe, in her official capacity as administrator of the Commission, by undersigned counsel, submit the following statement as ordered by the Court on August 23, 2023:

The Commission and its commissioners and administrator do not intend to file a response to the Republican Senator Respondents and proposed intervenor's motion to recuse Justice Protasiewicz.

Dated this 28th day of August 2023.

Respectfully submitted,

ERIC J. WILSON Deputy Attorney General of Wisconsin

Electronically signed by:

<u>Steven C. Kilpatrick</u> STEVEN C. KILPATRICK Assistant Attorney General State Bar #1025452

KARLA Z. KECKHAVER Assistant Attorney General State Bar #1028242

THOMAS C. BELLAVIA Assistant Attorney General State Bar #1030182

CHARLOTTE GIBSON Assistant Attorney General State Bar #1038845 Attorneys for Wisconsin Elections Commission, Don Millis, Robert F. Spindell, Jr., Mark L. Thomsen, Ann S. Jacobs, Marge Bostelmann, Joseph J. Czarnezki, and Meagan Wolfe

Wisconsin Department of Justice Post Office Box 7857 Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7857 (608) 266-1792 (SCK) (608) 264-6365 (KZK) (608) 266-8690 (TCB) (608) 957-5218 (CG) (608) 294-2907 (Fax) kilpatricksc@doj.state.wi.us keckhaverkz@doj.state.wi.us bellaviatc@doj.state.wi.us

CERTIFICATE OF EFILE/SERVICE

I certify that in compliance with Wis. Stat. § 801.18(6), I electronically filed this *Statement of No Response of Wisconsin Elections Commission and Its Commissioners and Administrator* with the clerk of court using the Wisconsin Appellate Court Electronic Filing System, which will accomplish electronic notice and service for all participants who are registered users.

Dated this 28th day of August 2023.

Electronically signed by:

<u>Steven C. Kilpatrick</u> STEVEN C. KILPATRICK Assistant Attorney General