United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

No. 23-40582

Honorable Terry Petteway; Honorable Derrick Rose; Honorable Penny Pope; Honorable Sonny James; Roosevelt Henderson; United States of America; Dickinson Bay Area Branch NAACP; Galveston Branch NAACP; Mainland Branch NAACP; Galveston LULAC Council 151; Edna Courville; Joe A. Compian; Leon Phillips,

Plaintiffs—Appellees,

versus

GALVESTON COUNTY, TEXAS; MARK HENRY, in his official capacity as Galveston County Judge; DWIGHT D. SULLIVAN, in his official capacity as Galveston County Clerk; GALVESTON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COURT,

Defendants—Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Southern District of Texas USDC No. 3:22-CV-57 USDC No. 3:22-CV-93 USDC No. 3:22-CV-117

UNPUBLISHED ORDER

No. 23-40582

BY THE COURT:

IT IS ORDERED that this "emergency" appeal is set for oral argument on Tuesday, November 7, 2023 in New Orleans.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Appellants' brief shall be filed by close of business on Thursday, October 26, 2023. Appellees' brief shall be filed by Thursday, November 2, 2023 and Appellants may file a reply brief no later than 1:00 p.m. on Monday, November 6, 2023.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the administrative stay shall be extended through Friday, November 10, 2023.

LYLE W. CAYCE, CLERK United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit /s/ Lyle W. Cayce

ENTERED AT THE DIRECTION OF THE COURT

United States Court of Appeals

FIFTH CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CLERK

LYLE W. CAYCE CLERK

TEL. 504-310-7700 600 S. MAESTRI PLACE, Suite 115 **NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130**

October 19, 2023

MEMORANDUM TO COUNSEL OR PARTIES LISTED BELOW:

No. 23-40582

Petteway v. Galveston County USDC No. 3:22-CV-57 USDC No. 3:22-CV-93 USDC No. 3:22-CV-117

Enclosed is an order entered in this case.

Sincerely,

LYLE W. CAYCE, Clerk

Charles who my

Charles B. Whitney, Deputy Clerk 504-310-7679

Mr. Neil G. Baron

Ms. Sarah Xiyi Chen

Mr. Matthew Nicholas Drecun

Mr. Chad Wilson Dunn

Mr. Mark P. Gaber
Mr. Bruce I. Gear
Mr. Daniel David Hu
Ms. Hilary Harris Klein
Mr. Richard Mancino

Ms. Mimi Murray Digby Marziani

Mr. Hani Mirza

Mr. Aaron E Nathan

Mr. Joseph M. Nixon

Mr. Nathan Ochsner

Ms. Angela K. Olalde

Ms. Bernadette Reyes

Ms. Valencia Richardson

Mr. Nicolas Riley

Mr. Joseph R. Russo Jr. Mr. Nickolas A. Spencer

Ms. Adrianne Spoto

Ms. JoAnna Barbara Suriani