United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

United States Court of Appeals Fifth Circuit

No. 23-40582

Lyle W. Cayce Clerk

March 14, 2024

HONORABLE TERRY PETTEWAY; HONORABLE DERRICK ROSE; HONORABLE PENNY POPE,

Plaintiffs—Appellees,

versus

GALVESTON COUNTY, TEXAS; MARK HENRY, in his official capacity as Galveston County Judge; DWIGHT D. SULLIVAN, in his official capacity as Galveston County Clerk,

Defendants—Appellants,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff—Appellee,

versus

GALVESTON COUNTY, TEXAS; GALVESTON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COURT; MARK HENRY, *in his official capacity as* Galveston County Judge,

Defendants—Appellants,

DICKINSON BAY AREA BRANCH NAACP; GALVESTON BRANCH

No. 23-40582

NAACP; MAINLAND BRANCH NAACP; GALVESTON LULAC Council 151; Edna Courville; Joe A. Compian; Leon Phillips,

Plaintiffs—Appellees,

versus

GALVESTON COUNTY, TEXAS; MARK HENRY, in his official capacity as Galveston County Judge; DWIGHT D. SULLIVAN, in his official capacity as Galveston County Clerk,

Defendants—Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Southern District of Texas USDC No. 3:22-CV-57 USDC No. 3:22-CV-93 USDC No. 3:22-CV-117

ORDER:

IT IS ORDERED upon the Suggestion of Death of Leon Phillips the appeal is dismissed as to Leon Phillips only.

/s/ Priscilla Richman PRISCILLA RICHMAN United States Circuit Judge Case: 23-40582 Document: 314-2 Page: 1 Date Filed: 03/14/2024

United States Court of Appeals

FIFTH CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CLERK

LYLE W. CAYCE CLERK TEL. 504-310-7700 600 S. MAESTRI PLACE, Suite 115 NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130

March 14, 2024

MEMORANDUM TO COUNSEL OR PARTIES LISTED BELOW:

No. 23-40582 Petteway v. Galveston County USDC No. 3:22-CV-57 USDC No. 3:22-CV-93 USDC No. 3:22-CV-117

Enclosed is an order entered in this case.

Sincerely,

LYLE W. CAYCE, Clerk

ebuco L'Lits

By: Rebecca I. Leto Deputy Cl

Rebecca L. Leto, Deputy Clerk 504-310-7703

Mr. Neil G. Baron Mr. Paul David Brachman Mr. William A. Brewer III Ms. Pooja Chaudhuri Ms. Sarah Xiyi Chen Ms. Alexandra Copper Mr. Matthew Nicholas Drecun Mr. Chad Wilson Dunn Mr. Jordan Raschke Elton Mr. Mark P. Gaber Mr. Bruce I. Gear Ms. Brianne Jenna Gorod Mr. Kyle Douglas Hawkins Mr. Daniel David Hu Ms. Hilary Harris Klein Ms. Simone Tyler Leeper Ms. Anita Liu Mr. Richard Mancino Ms. Mimi Murray Digby Marziani Mr. Hani Mirza Mr. Stuart Naifeh Mr. Aaron E Nathan Mr. Joseph M. Nixon Mr. T. Russell Nobile Mr. Nathan Ochsner

- Ms. Angela K. Olalde Ms. Jordan Orosz Ms. Jordan Orosz Mr. Paul A. Ready Ms. Bernadette Reyes Ms. Valencia Richardson Mr. Nicolas Riley Mr. Joseph R. Russo Jr. Mr. Nickolas A. Spencer Ms. Adrianne Spoto