FILED

11-07-2023 CLERK OF WISCONSIN SUPREME COURT

STATE OF WISCONSIN

IN SUPREME COURT

Case No. 2023AP1399-OA

REBECCA CLARKE, RUBEN ANTHONY, TERRY DAWSON, DANA GLASSTEIN, ANN GROVES-LLOYD, CARL HUJET, JERRY IVERSON, TIA JOHNSON, ANGIE KIRST, SELIKA LAWTON, FABIAN MALDONADO, ANNEMARIE MCCLELLAN, JAMES MCNETT, BRITTANY MURIELLO, ELA JOOSTEN (PARI) SCHILS, NATHANIEL SLACK, MARY SMITH-JOHNSON, DENISE SWEET, and GABRIELLE YOUNG,

Petitioners,

GOVERNOR TONY EVERS IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY, NATHAN ATKINSON, STEPHEN JOSEPH WRIGHT, GARY KRENZ, SARAH J. HAMILTON, JEAN-LUC THIFFEAULT, SOMESH JHA, JOANNE KANE, and LEAH DUDLEY,

Intervenors-Petitioners,

v.

WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION: DON MILLIS, ROBERT F. SPINDELL, JR., MARK L. THOMSEN, ANN S. JACOBS, MARGE BOSTELMANN, JOSEPH J. CZARNEZKI, IN THEIR OFFICIAL CAPACITIES AS MEMBERS OF THE WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION: AND MEAGAN WOLFE. IN HER OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS ADMINISTRATOR OF THE WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION: ANDRE JACQUE, TIM CARPENTER, ROB HUTTON, CHRIS LARSON, DEVIN LEMAHIEU, STEPHEN L. NASS, JOHN JAGLER, MARK SPREITZER, HOWARD MARKLEIN, RACHAEL CABRAL-GUEVARA, VAN H. WANGGAARD, JESSE L. JAMES, ROMAINE ROBERT QUINN, DIANNE H. HESSELBEIN, CORY TOMCZYK, JEFF SMITH, AND CHRIS KAPENGA, IN THEIR OFFICIAL CAPACITIES OF THE WISCONSIN SENATE,

Respondents,

WISCONSIN LEGISLATURE, BILLIE JOHNSON, CHRIS GOEBEL, ED PERKINS, ERIC O'KEEFE, JOE SANFELIPPO, TERRY MOULTON, ROBERT JENSEN, RON ZAHN, RUTH ELMER, and RUTH STRECK,

Intervenor-Respondents.

COMMISSION RESPONDENTS' NOTICE OF NONPARTICIPATION IN ORAL ARGUMENT

The Commission Respondents in this matter—the Wisconsin Elections Commission; Don Millis, Robert F. Spindell, Jr., Mark L. Thomsen, Ann S. Jacobs, Marge Bostelmann, Carrie Riepl,¹ in their official capacities as members of the Commission; and Meagan Wolfe, in her official capacity as administrator of the Commission—by undersigned counsel, submit the following notice:

The Commission Respondents do not intend to participate in oral argument in this matter scheduled for November 21, 2023.

¹ Carrie Riepl was appointed by Governor Evers to succeed Commissioner Joseph J. Czarnezki effective October 17, 2023. Riepl is "automatically substituted as a party" in her official capacity as a member of the Wisconsin Elections Commission pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 803.10(4)(a).

Dated this 7th day of November 2023.

Respectfully submitted,

ERIC J. WILSON Deputy Attorney General of Wisconsin

Electronically signed by:

<u>Steven C. Kilpatrick</u> STEVEN C. KILPATRICK Assistant Attorney General State Bar #1025452

KARLA Z. KECKHAVER Assistant Attorney General State Bar #1028242

THOMAS C. BELLAVIA Assistant Attorney General State Bar #1030182

CHARLOTTE GIBSON Assistant Attorney General State Bar #1038845

Attorneys for Wisconsin Elections Commission, Don Millis, Robert F. Spindell, Jr., Mark L. Thomsen, Ann S. Jacobs, Marge Bostelmann, Carrie Riepl, and Meagan Wolfe

Wisconsin Department of Justice Post Office Box 7857 Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7857 (608) 266-1792 (SCK) (608) 264-6365 (KZK) (608) 266-8690 (TCB) (608) 297-5218 (CG) (608) 294-2907 (Fax) kilpatricksc@doj.state.wi.us keckhaverkz@doj.state.wi.us bellaviatc@doj.state.wi.us gibsoncj@doj.state.wi.us

CERTIFICATE OF EFILE/SERVICE

I certify that in compliance with Wis. Stat. § 801.18(6), I electronically filed this *Commission Respondents' Notice of Nonparticipation in Oral Argument* with the clerk of court using the Wisconsin Appellate Court Electronic Filing System, which will accomplish electronic notice and service for all participants who are registered users.

Dated this 7th day of November 2023.

Electronically signed by:

<u>Steven C. Kilpatrick</u> STEVEN C. KILPATRICK Assistant Attorney General