Texas Redistricting Process

Congressional and Legislative

Congressional and legislative maps are enacted by the State Legislature. The Governor can veto the plans.

The Legislature can override a veto with a two-thirds vote. No party currently has a veto-proof majority in either chamber.


If the Legislature cannot enact a legislative plan, the five-member Legislative Redistricting Board of Texas is given the responsibility. The Board consists of the Lieutenant Governor, the Speaker of the Texas House, the Texas Attorney General, the Comptroller of Public Accounts, and the Commissioner of the General Land Office.

The Legislative Redistricting Board of Texas meets in Austin no less than 90 days after the adjournment of the regular session in a redistricting year. Before 60 days have passed since the first Board meeting, the Board draws new state legislative maps as the failure of action of the Texas Legislature makes necessary. The final redistricting plan is submitted in writing and must be signed by at least three Commissioners. It becomes law upon submission to the Secretary of State of Texas.

Source: Tex. Const. art. III, §§ 26, 28.

Ballot Measure Process

Kinds of Ballot Measures
Only the Texas Legislature may refer amendments to the ballot. There is no initiative or referendum process.

Source: Tex. Const. art. XVII.

In The News

Privacy Policy    |     Terms of Service
Copyright ©2021